North Korea gets its own time zone


North Korea will on 15 August 2015 move into its own unique time zone, at UTC+8:30, half an hour behind its current time zone, at UTC+9.

According to North Korean state media, the date for the time change was chosen to mark North Korea's liberation from Japan at the end of World War Two. North Korea was in the UTC+8:30 time zone before it was occupied by Japan in 1910.

North Korea is currently in the same time zone as South Korea and Japan. With the time zone change, North Korea will join the exclusive club of countries who have their very own time zone, alongside VenezuelaIran and Nepal.

More time zone news

Lunes, Junio 17, 2024, Semana 25